Couchsurfing

It all started when a Swedish friend of mine who just recently moved back to Sweden from London called me a bit tipsy one night, asking me if we will ever see each other again. A few jokes later, mixed in with nostalgia and a glass of wine, I was purchasing tickets for Gothenburg (his hometown). I had always thought of going to Sweden and as I am moving back to Texas in less than a month now, I thought it was as good a time as any. Also, his birthday was coming up so I bought my ticket as part of my birthday gift…

Two weeks later he tells me he’ll be away during that time as his friends bought him a surprise ticket for Berlin. Opps. 

Now I thought as there was no way to get a refund, I was going to do something I had always wanted to do–travel on my own. It was not the trip I had intended but why skip out on a chance to go to a place I have never been to before? 

The only problem now was where was I going to crash? That’s when I thought of couchsurfing. I know a couple people who have done it before and say they had a lovely time staying with locals and getting to know a city in a completely different way than if they had been in a hostel. Having slept in hostels plenty of times I thought I could not only save the cash but also get to know people who live in the city and could give me their own private tour of places to go. 

I sent about ten requests and finally got a bite. I’m staying with Brad, 35, Candian or Australian (not sure which) and has over 20 positive reviews from other couch surfers he has hosted. I’ll admit it is a bit odd to think I’ll be staying with a complete stranger I met off the internet in a city I don’t know at all. It kind of feels like a prolonged blind date or at least what a blind date would be like as I have never been on one. 

This could end up being a horror story…but eh you only live once, right? 

Time to pack now. I’ll let you know how things progress once I get there…

Leave a Reply

