Getting Lost in Gothenburg

P1016242.jpgI was knackered and a bit hungover from the night we had roaming the streets of Gothenburg but I was determined to go sight seeing a bit instead of passing out in a park.

I walked along the canal and ended up in the city center. I desperately tried to find a charger but failed and managed to charge at a local coffee shop for a bit before heading down the canal and unto a tram to Brad’s place. He was not in until 5 so I walked further down the waterfront to a museum for lunch and coffee. The sun was shining down hard but the breeze from the water made it bearable. 

I started thinking about what I was going to do on my own for the next few days. I didn’t know anyone and I didn’t know if there was much to do in the city. I had met a few people the night before but we all know how that goes…you make plans but then never hear from them again. (I would find out I was wrong and end up making memorable friendships.) I thought, “well this is what you wanted, to travel on your own.” 

I then walked back to Brad’s when he got home and chatted with him for a bit before making my way down to Hops, the local that I would become a local at during my stay in Gothenburg. Adam, the English man I met the night before and I had a couple of drinks and dinner there and made loose plans for hanging out during our stay (we ended up being glued together during our whole trip). We chatted a bit more to the locals (we all know how chatty I am) and then said our goodbyes (until tomorrow).

Not the most eventful day but at least tonight I would get to sleep on a couch and not the floor. Also, it is always nice to get away from the city of ants where we are all stacked up on top of each other. 

I had no plans for the following day apart from meeting Adam and Hugo at some point. I would just use the Laura method of waking up and figuring it out, going with the flow…it hasn’t failed me yet. 

Leave a Reply

