Last Day

I woke up sweating with the Swedish sun blazing in my eyes. My body ached as I rolled out of bed and into the shower. The day before had taken its toll and I hadn’t had the reparative sleep I was hoping for.

Regardless I managed to get clothes on and take the tram into the city to meet Adam. It was our last full day in Gothenburg and we had plans to make the most of it. We walked around and had coffee in the center and then walked along the canal for lunch near the market. We then continued on and hopped on a boat tour that was to take us through the canals to view the boat along the dock. There was a boat race that had just ended in Gothenburg and we were lucky enough to see them all lined up.

P1016230.jpg

We then walked to the botanical gardens nearby and had a drink in the sun. I dozed off a bit as Adam walked around taking pictures.

P1016228.jpg

By this time it was already 6 pm so we had dinner together and then walked back to Hops, our local pub, for a couple drinks with the people we had met during our stay. Hugo tried to get us to stay out until he closed but my feet were aching and Adam was going to wake up in four hours to take his flight back home. Instead, I made plans to met Hugo the following day for a tour of the city before hopping on my flight later on that night.

P1016249.jpg

This was it. My trip was coming to and end though, now I thought of it as “our trip” for I had spent all my time roaming the streets with my new buddy Adam. We said our goodbyes and made plans to meet up before I left for Houston. Its funny how a trip alone turned out to be a trip were I met a new friend(s).
This wouldn’t be the last time I’d see Adam, that was certain.

P1016232.jpg

Leave a Reply

